2018 Keir Choreographic Award winner announced

Monday 19 March 2018

Melanie Lane Keir Winner 2018
Melanie Lane, Personal Effigies, Image: Gregory Lorenzutti Dance & Photography for Dancehouse

The Keir Choreographic Award is a national biennial award dedicated to the commission, presentation, promotion and dissemination of new Australian choreography. It offers eight artists the time and space to create and present a fully funded new work, a remarkable context in which to engage with international perspectives and an opportunity to connect with new and ever-expanding audiences for dance in Australia.

Congratulations to Melanie Lane, winner of the 2018 Keir Choreographic Award, and Amrita Hepi, winner of the Audience Choice Award.

8 semifinalists performed at Dancehouse in March of which four finalists were shortlisted and then performed at Carriageworks in Sydney (AMRITA HEPI - A CALTEX SPECTRUM, LUKE GEORGE - PUBLIC ACTION, MELANIE LANE - PERSONAL EFFIGIES, NANA BILUŠ ABAFFY - POST REALITY VISION).

The Keir Choreographic Award is supported by the City of Yarra. 

More information:

Keir Foundation
Melanie Lane


Search for News